Cuba Travel Update: 4 Dec 2021

Due to the new variant of Covid-19, Cuba has taken extra measures to control this new variant.

It is worth noting that UK travellers are not affected by these measures.

Information from the Ministry of Public Health in Cuba has published:

In view of the emergence of a new variant of the coronavirus causing COVID-19 called “Omicron” (B.1.1.529), identified as a variant of “concern” by the World Health Organisation (WHO), with a rapid spread and cases isolated in several countries worldwide, it is decided to implement new measures to reinforce the control of international travellers.

Travellers arriving from: South Africa, Lesotho, Botswana, Zimbabwe, Mozambique, Namibia, Malawi and Swaziland, upon entry into our country must comply with the following requirements:

– Present at the point of entry a complete vaccination schedule.
– The negative result of a PCR-RT was carried out no more than 72 hours prior to travel.
– A sample for PCR-RT to SARS-CoV-2 will be taken at the point of entry.
– Mandatory quarantine will be applied for seven days in a hotel designated for this purpose, at the traveller’s own expense for accommodation and transportation.
– They will be re-sampled for SARS-CoV-2 PCR-RT on the sixth day, and if negative, they will be released from quarantine on the seventh day.

In the case of travellers from Belgium, Israel, Hong Kong, Egypt, Turkey and the rest of the countries of Sub-Saharan Africa (Angola, Benin, Burkina Faso, Burundi, Cape Verde, Cameroon, Chad, Comoros, Ivory Coast, Eritrea, Ethiopia, Gabon, Gambia, Ghana, Guinea, Guinea-Bissau, Equatorial Guinea, Kenya, Liberia, Madagascar, Guinea-Bissau, Guinea-Bissau, Kenya, Liberia, Madagascar, Mali, Mauritania, Mozambique, Rwanda, Senegal, Senegal, Uganda, Uganda and Zambia), they will be released from quarantine on the seventh day, Central African Republic, Democratic Republic of Congo, Kenya, Liberia, Madagascar, Mali, Mauritania, Mauritius, Mauritania, Niger, Nigeria, Rwanda, Sao Tome and Principe, Senegal, Seychelles, Sierra Leone, Somalia, Sudan, South Sudan, Tanzania, Togo, Uganda, Djibouti and Zambia).

– They will be subject to the same measures as the above countries with the exception of quarantine and PCR-RT on day 6.

The measures will be effective from 4 December 2021.

Ministry of Public Health of Cuba.